Greater Peterborough

Peterborough is a dynamic and thriving multi-cultural city with a population of 167,000 (2007 estimate) located in the county of Cambridgeshire. It is famous for its beautiful cathedral, considered one of the finest in England with a history dating back over 1,350 years and the current building approaching its 900th foundation anniversary. Peterborough is also one of the four Environment Cities in the UK and is now working to become the country’s Environment Capital.

The city of Peterborough and its surrounding towns and villages comprises Greater Peterborough.

The city of Peterborough is composed of the 24 electoral wards of Peterborough City Council namely Barnack, Bretton North, Bretton South, Dogsthorpe, Fletton, Glinton and Wittering, Newborough, Northborough, Orton Longueville, Orton Waterville, Orton with Hampton, Park, Paston, Peterborough Central, Peterborough East, Peterborough North, Peterborough West, Ravensthorpe, Stanground Central, Stanground East, Eye and Thorney, Walton, Werrington North, and Werrington South.

Some of Peterborough’s surrounding towns and villages are Helpston, Stamford, Spalding, March, Wisbech, Holbeach, Bourne, Elton, Warmington, Ramsey, Chatteris, Huntingdon, Crowland, Alconbury, Wansford, Castor and Stilton.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s